Meet Emma Kidd (& her lacy knickers)

Emiliana Underwear began with lingere designer Emma Kidd’s desire to step away from the world of fast-paced fashion. She now sources end-of-line and unwanted fabrics and transforms them into a gorgeous range of lacy handmade knickers… 

Emiliana Underwear is both elegant and quirky. All the designs are based on underwear that I would like to wear myself, so they have to be comfortable. I use pretty stretch lace instead of elastic to ensure the smoothest fit.

I was inspired to start Emiliana when I could not find any other way to produce underwear that was 100% environmentally or ethically responsible. I trained in underwear design and have been in the industry for over 10 years. I realised that I just had to go it alone and prove that it is possible to make an ethical lingere choice.

I used to be a Lingerie Designer and Product Developer in Hong Kong and worked for high street brands as well as famous fashion designers such as Collette Dinnigan.

…I then realised that I didn’t agree with the mass production of underwear or the commercial underwear industry. I left Hong Kong to do a Masters degree at Schumacher College in England (an amazing International college of Sustainability), studying Holistic Science. This confirmed my thoughts and worldviews and gave me the courage to do things differently.

 
.

My advice to young designers is – don’t be afraid! Go for it, and most importantly, trust in process.  You may not know exactly where you are headed but it doesn’t matter, it will emerge as you go along.

When I’m not working I like to read a lot. I love to challenge my ways of thinking and expand my ideas about the world and our place in it. I love being outdoors and get a lot of strength and inspiration from a stroll around my garden.

My friends would describe me as: Determined, sensitive, open-minded, dreamer, warm hearted.

In the future I aim to continue showing women that there are ethical ways of fulfilling their need for underwear - including learning to make it themselves! There is no better way of understanding the process involved in something than to try give it a go yourself. I create make-your-own knicker making kits and would love to increase the awareness of this wonderful process.

Visit Emiliana Underwear

// GIVEAWAY  // GIVEAWAY // GIVEAWAY //

Emma Kidd and Emiliana Underwear are giving you the chance to win a piece of the prettiest ethical underwear of your choice PLUS a knicker making kit to create your own! Just head over to Emma’s Bluecaravan store and choose the pair that you’d like to be yours…

*Entries now closed*

HOW TO ENTER

1 entry = Head over to our Facebook page and tell us which style you would love to win: the Skimpy Short; Hipster Brief; Italian Bikini; or Boyshort? 

2 MORE entries = While you are there – be sure to hit the ‘SHARE’ button on the Facebook giveaway post for triple the chance to win….

  

GOOD LUCK!

2 responses to “Meet Emma Kidd (& her lacy knickers)

  1. Pingback: Win some Emiliana knickers @ Blue Caravan « Emiliana Underwear

  2. Emiliana’s knickers are simply beautiful: simple design, beautiful product. Her workshops are great and the make your own knicker packs are inspiring great to make for yourself, they also make great gifts. Great values and an ethical approach to design and production. FAB!

Leave a Reply

